PEM Motion: Think Big start Small – Our Return on Engineering Approach

9th March 2020 Category: Uncategorized

Think Big start Small

Shorter, faster, more efficient with the “Return on Engineering” approach

Grand visions are driven by large expenditures, high budgets and long production times. If you want to get ahead, you have to allow for more work, more money and more time. A product can only be successful if it is perfect. Nobody can and should afford mistakes.

This attitude has become particularly widespread in German industry and society. The consequence: Technological innovations come to a standstill. Production processes are stuck. Most people play it safe instead of taking risks.

 

 

The R-word

Risks have a bad reputation. Deutsche denken zuerst an Szenarien, die den Erfolg behindern könnten. Minimizing risks is often equated with minimizing the potential for failure.

At the same time, the Americans in particular show us how to handle risks with a good portion of optimism and a certain spirit of discovery. Tesla’s success is based on the risky vision of defying the powerful automobile market and electrifying motorized mobility. At the beginning this seemed just as foolhardy as it seemed risky.

The strategy is simple: make mistakes early on and minimize future, cost-intensive error potentials.

Still, for a long time the future for Tesla was very uncertain. Stocks fell as fast as they rose. But the loyalty has paid off. Today, the company is worth more than ever before and is far ahead of most of its competitors.

 

KEEP IT SIMPLE, REDUCE IT TO THE MAX!

   

 

RoE

The core idea behind “Return on Engineering” is to radically reduce the expenditure required to bring a product to market. Yet never losing sight of the value for the customer. New products usually consume vast amounts of resources and time. Time and time again, planning and the will to perfectionism prove to be the biggest opponents of progress. Unused potential usually lurks where nobody dares to look.

By entering the market at an early stage, it is possible to react specifically and concretely to the wishes of the customers, rather than assuming potential customer wishes at the beginning of a development, as has been the case up to now. Learn more about our agile approach now

In short, development on the market instead of in the production halls promotes innovation.

 

 

 

 

“It is possible to get a product to the market,
even in an extremely short amount of time and with
a fraction of the conventional investment!”

– Prof. Achim Kampker

 

 

 

Fail early, fast and cost-effective

Taking the wrong decisions, making mistakes, interrupting progress. Doesn’t quite sound like success? IT DOES, with the “Return on Engineering”, we count on making mistakes as early as possible. At a time when the investment is still low, mistakes can be corrected and there is time to learn from these errors. Because the fact is, everyone makes mistakes. Nobody is perfect, and even when everything has been thought of, the line between success and failure is sometimes not in our own hands.

 

 

 

 

 “It’s not making mistakes that slows progress.
It’s holding on to the belief that
making mistakes slows progress.”

– Prof. Achim Kampker

 

 

 

 

 

In the long run – simply – better – make it

Four things. No more, no less. “Return on Engineering” means:

  • Increasing efficiency in the industrialization process for a long-term competitive advantage
  • Radical reduction of industrialization efforts while increasing customer value
  • 9 solution principles (s. Think Big start Small) detail the approach to maximise RoE
  • All visions are in vain without one – MAKE IT

 

About PEM Motion

PEM Aachen GmbH (PEM Motion since 2019) was founded in 2014 as part of the StreetScooter development as a spin-off of the chair for production technology for e-mobility components by Prof. Achim Kampker at RWTH Aachen University (PEM) with the aim of making knowledge accessible to other companies and thus to contribute to the mobility and energy transition. From a small team of innovatively thinking engineers, a company with over 90 employees has emerged, which today works worldwide for automobile manufacturers, mobility providers, suppliers and start-ups.

 

Further information under:

https://www.returnon.engineering 
https://www.pem-motion.com/en/agility-booster/

and in the book “Think Big start Small”. Available for free

https://link.springer.com/book/10.1007%2F978-3-662-54997-1

PEM Motion: Think Big start Small – Unser Return on Engineering Ansatz

9th March 2020 Category: Allgemein

Think Big start Small

Kürzer, schneller, effizienter mit dem “Return on Engineering“ Ansatz

Hinter großen Visionen stehen große Aufwendungen, hohe Budgets, lange Produktionszeiten. Wer weiter kommen will muss mehr Arbeit, mehr Geld und mehr Zeit einkalkulieren. Ein Produkt kann nur dann erfolgreich sein, wenn es perfekt ist. Fehler kann und darf sich niemand leisten.

Diese Einstellung hat sich besonders in der deutschen Industrie und Gesellschaft breit gemacht. Die Folge: Technologische Innovationen kommen zum Erliegen. Produktionsabläufe sind festgefahren. Die Meisten gehen auf Nummer sicher, statt Risiken einzugehen.

 

 

Das R-Wort

Risiken haben für uns einen schlechten Ruf. Deutsche denken zuerst an Szenarien, die den Erfolg behindern könnten. Risiken zu minieren, wird oft damit gleichgesetzt das Potential zu scheitern, zu minimieren.

Dabei machen uns vor allem die Amerikaner vor, wie man mit einer guten Portion Optimismus und einem gewissen Entdeckergeist auch mit Risiken umgehen kann. Teslas Erfolg beruht auf der riskanten Vision dem mächtigen Automobilmarkt die Stirn zu bieten und die motorisierte Mobilität zu elektrisieren. Das schien zu Beginn ebenso tollkühn wie riskant.

Die Strategie ist simpel: Früh Fehler machen und zukünftige, kostenintensive Fehlerpotentiale minimieren.

Dennoch, lange war die Zukunft für Tesla ungewiss. Die Aktien fielen so schnell wie sie stiegen. Doch die Treue hat sich ausgezahlt. Die Firma ist heute mehr wert denn je und den meisten Konkurrenten weit voraus.

 

KEEP IT SIMPLE, REDUCE IT TO THE MAX!

   

 

RoE

Der Kerngedanke hinter „Return on Engineering“ ist es, die Aufwendungen, um ein Produkt auf den Markt zu bringen, radikal zu kürzen. Dabei den Wert für den Kunden aber nie aus den Augen zu verlieren. Neue Produkte verbrauchen meist Unmengen an Ressourcen und Zeit. Die Planung und der Wille zum Perfektionismus beweisen sich immer wieder als größter Widersacher des Fortschritts. Ungenutztes Potential liegt meist dort, wo niemand zu schauen wagt.

Durch einen frühen Markteintritt kann spezifisch und konkret auf Wünsche der Kunden reagiert werden, statt wie bisher theoretisch zu Beginn einer Entwicklung potenzielle Kundenwünsche anzunehmen. Erfahren Sie jetzt mehr über unsere agile Arbeitsweise

Kurz gesagt: Entwicklung am Markt statt in den Produktionshallen fördert die Innovation.

 

 

 

 

 

 

„Es ist möglich mit einem Bruchteil des
herkömmlichen Investments,
ein Produkt auf den Markt zu bringen
und das in einer extrem kurzen Zeit!“

– Prof. Achim Kampker

 

 

 

 

Früh Scheitern, schnell und kostengünstig

Falsche Entscheidungen treffen, Fehler machen, Fortschritt unterbrechen. Klingt nicht direkt nach Erfolg? DOCH, mit dem „Return on Engineering“ setzen wir darauf, dass Fehler so früh wie möglich geschehen. Zu einem Zeitpunkt, an dem das Investment noch niedrig ist, Fehler ausgebessert werden können und Zeit bleibt, um aus diesen Fehlern zu lernen. Denn Tatsache ist, jeder macht Fehler. Niemand ist perfekt, und auch wenn an alles gedacht ist, liegt die Grenze zwischen Erfolg und Misserfolg manchmal nicht in der eigenen Hand.

 

 

 

 

„Nicht das Fehlermachen behindert den Fortschritt, sondern das Festhalten
am Verdacht,
das Fehlermachen
könnte den Fortschritt behindern.“

– Prof. Achim Kampker

 

 

 

 

 

Langfristig – einfach – besser – machen

Vier Worte. Nicht mehr, nicht weniger. „Return on Engineering“ bedeutet:

  • Effizienzsteigerung im Industrialisierungsprozess für langfristigen Wettbewerbsvorsprung
  • Radikale Reduktion des Industrialisierungsaufwand bei gleichzeitiger Erhöhung des Kundenwerts
  • 9 Lösungsprinzipien (s. Think Big start Small) detaillieren die Vorgehensweise zur Maximierung des RoE
  • Alle Visionen sind vergebens ohne eines – MACHEN

 

Über PEM Motion

Die PEM Aachen GmbH (seit 2019 PEM Motion) wurde im Jahr 2014 im Rahmen der StreetScooter-Entwicklung als Ausgründung des Lehrstuhls für Produktionstechnik für Elektromobilitätskomponenten von Prof. Achim Kampker an der RWTH Aachen (PEM) mit dem Ziel gegründet, gewonnene Erkenntnisse auch anderen Unternehmen zugänglich zu machen und so zur Mobilitäts- und Energiewende beizutragen. Aus einem kleinen Team innovativ denkender Ingenieure ist ein Unternehmen mit über 90 Mitarbeitern entstanden, das heute weltweit mit Automobilherstellern, Mobilitätsanbietern, Zulieferern und Start-Ups zusammenarbeitet um schon heute die Mobilität der Zukunft zu realisieren.

 

Weitere Informationen zu unserem erfolgreichen Return on Engineering Ansatz finden Sie auch unter:

https://www.returnon.engineering 
https://www.pem-motion.com/agility-booster/

oder im Buch “Think Big start Small”. Kostenlos verfügbar unter

https://link.springer.com/book/10.1007%2F978-3-662-54997-1